NHTSA Certified Standard Field Sobriety Test Practitioner

DWI defense lawyer David Frank of Austin, Texas represents individuals accused of DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) and DUI (Driving Under the Influence), he has defended against DWI related prosecutions throughout Central Texas.

Getting a DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) is serious! You need to take it seriously - so should your lawyer. Even a conviction for a first-time DWI can carry serious consequences, not the least of which is $1,000 or more per year for three years just to keep your driver’s license.

If you are like the vast majority of those who get arrested for DWI, this is the ONLY way that you would ever have come into contact with the criminal justice system. Only because Texas DWI laws exist, do many people who would never dream of breaking the law find themselves arrested, photographed, fingerprinted, and generally “treated like criminals.” This is serious business. And once you have posted your bond, the whole process is really just beginning.

Driving while intoxicated laws:

  • A first-time DWI is a “Class B Misdemeanor.” This means it carries a criminal penalty of up to 6 months in the county jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
  • A second DWI is a “Class A Misdemeanor.” This grade of offense carries up to a year in county jail and up to a $4,000 fine.
  • A third DWI is a “Third Degree Felony,” which carries a penalty of up to ten years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine. That is penitentiary time, not county jail time.
  • A conviction for any of these also carries a mandatory driver’s license suspension of at least a year.

We hope that you will find this web site informative and helpful in answering your questions about selecting a defense lawyer. If you have any further questions, please contact us by filling out our contact form or calling us.

Board Certified in Criminal Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization